Visible Users and Connections
Some endpoints that list users return only visible users or talk about connections. This article will help you understand what that means.
What is a visible user?
By default in a Pronto org, all users are visible to all other users and any user can search for and DM any other user. However, it is possible for an org admin to change this default behavior via organization permissions.
One org permission is called "Search for any person in the org". By default this is set to the "user" role so that all users are visible to all others. But an org admin may set this to a higher role such as "manager" or "admin" so that people with a "user" role are limited to only seeing other users that they are already in group chats or DMs with (aka "connections").
Depending on the user, this may affect which users are returned in APIs such as GET /users/me/users or whether GET /users/{user_id} will succeed.
Read more about Pronto roles and permissions
What is a connection?
Your connections are users that are in the same group chats or DM chats as you. If an org admin has set "Search for any person in the org" to a role other than "user", only connections will be visible to those with the "user" role and you those users will not be able to start a DM with any user in the org that is not one of their connections.